National Geographic photo contest

For as long as I can recall I’ve been a fan of National Geographic. A big cheap fan, if I’m honest, given I’ve never bought a magazine, but I spend a lot of free time on their website.

And that’s where I found their Traveler Photo Contest, an opportunity for readers/users to submit their favourite travel photographs for a chance to win blah blah blah. I’m not really interested in winning, I just wanted to look at some cool pics. Like these.

ng1

ng2

But if I had to submit my own photos, I might be tempted to send these few, taken by me variously in South Africa, Tanzania and American Florida.

My submissions

An adult hippopotamus weighs three and a half tons, can hold its breath for up to 15 minutes, has bullet proof skin that weighs half a ton, and should not be fucked with. A baby hippopotamus is cute.

ngam3

I actually did enter this photo in a photo competition several years ago. I don’t think it was a National Geographic competition, but even if it was I didn’t win.

ngam5

The African elephant has a gestation period of 22 months, or about 640 days.  But their babies can be as cute as a hippo infant (gestation period: 240 days).

ngam6

The way I remember it, this snake was four metres long and pissed off. A more accurate account is that this photo was taken in Florida and the snake is probably a harmless yellow rat snake, a popular pet in the US.

ngam4

This is simply a pretty picture taken somewhere in the Cederberg mountains. Insert intelligent comment about the light and contrast and depth here. Or don’t.

ngam1

But I probably won’t submit any photos, because that’s not really my bag. I’ll just keep an eye on the submissions and, eventually, the winners, because photos are fun.

One response to “National Geographic photo contest

Leave a Reply

