The best TV commercials of 2013

When you watch as much TV as I do, it pays to enjoy the commercials. So my attention was caught by this headline from a South African news site: These are the 2 best ads for 2013

Don’t ask me how this award – it’s an actual award, from the Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity – can be given before we’re even halfway through the year. I’m just commenting here.

But according to CLIFC,  the best ad in the Direct category was Dumb Ways to Die.

And the best in the Film Craft category was something you might remember from the London Paralympics, Meet the Superhumans.

I remember the Paralympics one, and I remember being impressed. It’s guaranteed goosebumps, and that’s how it should be. But I’m a bit confused by the dumb ways to die.

  • When do I have the time to watch a 3-minute commercial?
  • I didn’t know until the last 8 seconds what or who it was advertising

If they’d asked me, I would’ve said drop two verses and let’s have some branding a little earlier on in the carnage. I guess it’s a catchy tune, cute animation and an important message, but I’d probably change the channel on it myself.

If I’ve got you in the mood for advertising, here are two of my favourites from then and now:

Leave a Reply

